Download PDF

ICTR Committee


  • Eberhard Bodenschatz (20017 - 2020)
    Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization

    Is scientific director and managing director at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization (MPI-DS; Göttingen, Germany) coordinates EuHIT. He has more than 25 years of experience in fluid dynamics, with 13 years at Cornell University, where he was a full professor of physics until 2005 and since then is adjunct professor of physics and mechanical and aerospace engineering. He is a Professor of Physics at the University of Göttingen at the institute that was once led by Ludwig Prandtl. In addition to his other tasks, Prof. Bodenschatz is the vice-chair of the Chemistry, Physics and Technology section of the Max Planck Society, editor in Chief of New Journal of Physics, a member of the editorial board of Annual Review of Condensed Matter Physics and of Europhysical Journal Historical Perspectives on Contemporary Physics.


  • Allesandra Sabina Lanotte (20017 - 2020)

    Institute of Atmospheric Sciences and Climate, National Research Council, Italy

    Alessandra S. Lanotte is permanent researcher at the Institute of Atmospheric Sciences and Climate, of the National Research Council in Italy.  She did her undergraduate studies at the Physics Dept. of the Univ. La Sapienza, Rome. She earned her Ph.D. at the Univ. Sophia-Antipolis, Nice, in 1999. She was Post-doc Research Fellow at the Physics Dept. of the Univ. Tor Vergata, Rome, in 2000-2001. Her research areas include Turbulence, Fluid Mechanics of Complex Systems, Turbulent transport of particles and fields, Lagrangian dynamics and dispersion in complex flows, with particular interest in Geophysical Fluid Dynamics. She investigates these problems with theoretical and numerical approaches. Recent projects focus on particles diffusion in random media, the statistical laws of turbulent flows, fragmentation processes in non ideal suspensions.She has been Visiting Scientist at NCAR Boulder in 2003 and 2015, at KITP Santa Barbara in 2008 and 2011, at KITPC Beijing in 2012. She is the author of about 70 papers (54 in refereed journals), and has 10 invited talks in international conferences.  She is active in HPC since more than 10 years (PI of Prace Tier0 4th and 14th calls, PI of EU-HPC proj. in 2007, team member of Prace Tier0 9th call, team member of DEISA/DECI proj. in 2006).  Since 2016, she is Associate Editor of Physics of Fluids, AIPP.


  • Rahul Pandit (20017 - 2020)
    Department of Physics and Division of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Indian Institute of Science





Previous Chairmans and Committee members

During the kick-off meeting held in Goettingen on the 4th of December 2006 the following committee in charge during year 2007 was elected: Chairman Eberhard Bodenschatz (Goettingen), Vice-Chairman Federico Toschi (Rome), other committee members (*): Lance Collins (Cornell), Detlef Lohse (Twente), Szymon Malinowski (Warsaw), Jean-Francois Pinton (Lyon).

Past ICTR Chairmans

  • Szymon Malinowski (Warsaw)
  • Jean-Francois Pinton (Lyon)
  • Federico Toschi (1/1/2008 - 31/6/2009 - Rome)

  • Eberhard Bodenschatz (1/1/2007 - 31/12/2008 - Goettingen)

Committee members:
Lance Collins (Cornell)
Detlef Lohse (Twente)
Szymon Malinowski (Warsaw)
Raymond Shaw (MichiganTech)


Last modified 7 Jul 2017, 12:30:48